

## **Aquifer District Welcomes New and Returning Board Members**

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, November 18, 2020 For more information, contact: Vanessa Escobar, General Manager at (512) 282-8441 or vescobar@bseacd.org

On November 12, 2020, the Barton Springs/Edwards Aquifer Conservation District's Board welcomed two new Directors and one returning Director at its regular Board Meeting. Following the canvass and statutory director installation activities, new directors Christy Williams and Dan Pickens now join current Director Blake Dorsett on the Board with new four-year terms. A total of five Directors serve on the Board of the BSEACD, also including Blayne Stansberry of Precinct 2, and Craig Smith of Precinct 5, whose current terms expire in 2022.

As of the candidate filing deadline, there were no opposing candidates for the election in Precinct 1 or Precinct 3. Outgoing District Director Mary Stone stepped down from her directorship in Precinct 1, allowing new candidate Dan Pickens to run unopposed. In Precinct 3, incumbent Director Blake Dorsett also ran unopposed. Votes for Precinct 4 Director were tallied in both Travis and Hays Counties following the election on November 3, 2020 which named Christy Williams the official winner against incumbent Director Dr. Robert (Bob) Larsen. The final official election results were 75.69% for Christy Williams and 24.31% for Bob Larsen in Travis County, and 78.02% for Christy Williams and 21.98% for Bob Larsen in Hays County, according to the County Election Results websites.

The District thanks outgoing Directors Mary Stone and Bob Larsen for their years of public service and dedication to the District. Mrs. Mary Stone served on the Board for 12 years as Director of District 1, and presided as Board President twice in addition to participating on various subcommittees. Her leadership in 2015 was critical for the passage of HB 3405 which incorporated eastern Hays County within the District boundary. During Dr. Robert Larsen's 17-year tenure as Director of District 4, he also presided as Board President in addition to participating in various subcommittees. Dr. Larsen advocated for alternative water supplies to reduce pressure on underground fresh water supplies. They both have played integral roles in continuing the District's mission and legacy of protecting groundwater resources in the region.

## **Useful links:**

- District Board Members: https://bseacd.org/about-us/board/
- Press Release archive: http://bseacd.org/publications/press-releases/
- Travis County Election Results Page & Hays County Election Results Page: <a href="https://countyclerk.traviscountytx.gov/elections/election-results-1.html">https://countyclerk.traviscountytx.gov/elections/election-results-1.html</a>; <a href="https://hayscountytx.com/departments/elections/election-results/">https://hayscountytx.com/departments/elections/election-results/</a>

BSEACD is a groundwater conservation district charged by the Texas Legislature to preserve, conserve, and protect the aquifers and groundwater resources within its jurisdiction, which includes parts of three Central Texas counties. It is governed by a Board of five elected directors and staffed with hydrogeologists, groundwater regulatory compliance specialists, environmental educators, geospatial systems specialists, and administrative support personnel.