

Aguifer District Cancels November General and Special Elections

For Immediate Release: September 15, 2022

For more information, contact: David Marino, Communications & Outreach Manager at

(512) 282-8441 or <u>dmarino@bseacd.org</u>

During the Board Meeting held on September 15, 2022, the Barton Springs/Edwards Aquifer Conservation District's Board of Directors canceled the November 8, 2022 General and Special Elections for District Directors. Each precinct only had one candidate file for their respective Districts. Therefore, under Texas Election Code, Chapter 2, the Board of Directors canceled the elections and declared the unopposed candidates elected to their respective office. The following candidates will be issued a certificate of election following the November General Election:

Precinct 2 Director: Blayne Stansberry

Precinct 3 Director: Lily Lucas

Precinct 5 Director: Vanessa Puig-Williams (Replaces Outgoing Director Craig Smith)

BSEACD is a groundwater conservation district charged by the Texas Legislature to preserve, conserve, and protect the aquifers and groundwater resources within its jurisdiction, which includes parts of three Central Texas counties. It is governed by a Board of five elected directors and staffed with hydrogeologists, groundwater regulatory compliance specialists, environmental educators, geospatial systems specialists, and administrative support personnel.