

## **Aquifer District Welcomes New and Returning Board Directors**

For Immediate Release: December 9, 2022 For more information, contact: David Marino, Communications & Outreach Manager at (512) 282-8441 or <u>dmarino@bseacd.org</u>

During the Board Meeting held on December 8, 2022, the Barton Springs/Edwards Aquifer Conservation District's Board of Directors welcomed one new director and two returning directors. Following the canvassing of the November 8 General/Special Election results and statutory director installation activities, new director, Vanessa Puig-Williams, joined returning directors Blayne Stansberry and Lily Lucas.

Precinct 2 Director: Blayne Stansberry Precinct 3 Director: Lily Lucas Precinct 5 Director: Vanessa Puig-Williams (Replaces Outgoing Director Craig Smith)

In September, the District canceled the November 8, 2022 General and Special Elections for District Directors because each precinct only had one candidate file for their respective Districts. A total of five Directors serve on the Board, elected for staggered four-year terms.

Board Officers were also selected at the December 8, 2022 Board Meeting. Precinct 2 Director Blayne Stansberry will remain Board President, Precinct 1 Director Dan Pickens was selected as Vice-President of the Board, and Precinct 4 Director Christy Williams will remain Secretary of the Board.

The District thanks outgoing Director Craig Smith for his service and contributions to the District during his more than two decades on the Board.

BSEACD is a groundwater conservation district charged by the Texas Legislature to preserve, conserve, and protect the aquifers and groundwater resources within its jurisdiction, which includes parts of three Central Texas counties. It is governed by a Board of five elected directors and staffed with hydrogeologists, groundwater regulatory compliance specialists, environmental educators, geospatial systems specialists, and administrative support personnel.