

Board of Directors Adopts New Director Precinct Boundaries

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, March 16, 2022

For more information, contact: David Marino, Communications & Outreach Manager at (512) 282-

8441 or dmarino@bseacd.org

The Barton Springs/Edwards Aquifer Conservation District (District) Board of Directors adopted new Director Precinct boundaries at their March 10, 2022 Board meeting. The Board's decision was preceded by a public hearing, also held at the March 10, 2022 meeting. In accordance with State and Federal law, after each federal decennial census, the board must revise the single-member districts. The 2020 federal decennial census was released in August 2021. The District worked with the law firm of *Bickerstaff Heath Delgado Acosta LLP* to act as the District's redistricting consultant, including advising and assisting the Board in preparation of a new redistricting plan in compliance with applicable requirements of state and federal law.

A five-member Board of Directors, elected for staggered four-year terms, is the governing body of the District and ensures the District's work is consistent with statutory mission, District rules, and local priorities.

Below is the adopted resolution and new Director Precinct Maps:

Redistricting Resolution - March 10, 2022

Director Precinct Maps - Adopted March 10, 2022

BSEACD is a groundwater conservation district charged by the Texas Legislature to preserve, conserve, and protect the aquifers and groundwater resources within its jurisdiction, which includes parts of three Central Texas counties. It is governed by a Board of five elected directors and staffed with hydrogeologists, groundwater regulatory compliance specialists, environmental educators, geospatial systems specialists, and administrative support personnel.