BSEACD Board Appoints Interim Director for Precinct 3

Lily Lucas, Precinct 3 Interim Director

For Immediate Release: Monday, Nov. 22, 2021
For more information, contact: David Marino, Communications & Outreach Manager at (512) 282-8441 or

On November 18, 2021, the Barton Springs/Edwards Aquifer Conservation District (BSEACD) Board of Directors appointed Lily Lucas as the Interim Director for Precinct 3. Ms. Lucas will be officially sworn in early next month (December). She fills the unexpired term of Blake Dorsett, who announced his resignation in July.

Originally from Northeast Texas, Ms. Lucas moved to Central Texas after graduating from Texas A&M University and currently resides in Buda. She began volunteering by running water quality tests with the San Marcos River Rangers after completing the Texas Stream Team’s Water Quality Training program. Ms. Lucas says she understands how important it is to have consistent and long-term data about the springs and aquifers that we rely on as a community so we can make important decisions about the future of our water resources.

“Serving on the board allows me to be an active steward to the aquifers and springs that supply our rapidly growing communities,” said Ms. Lucas. “My goal is to maintain our aquifers’ water quality and availability. We will achieve this by taking data-driven approaches and educating the residents within the District on the importance of their water source.”

“Precinct 3 is an important seat to have filled as this area is experiencing an explosion of growth like many areas of Texas,” said BSEACD Board President Blayne Stansberry. “Ms. Lucas’s understanding of groundwater as a shared resource and her scientific approach to its management will be an asset to both the constituents she will represent and the District as a whole.”

BSEACD is a groundwater conservation district charged by the Texas Legislature to preserve, conserve, and protect the aquifers and groundwater resources within its jurisdiction, which includes parts of three Central Texas counties. It is governed by a Board of five elected directors and staffed with hydrogeologists, groundwater regulatory compliance specialists, environmental educators, geospatial systems specialists, and administrative support personnel.